…In with the New

As 2015 dawns, I remain thankful for this annual re-set I am afforded in life. It’s a day to reflect, be thankful, and “throw off everything that hinders” (Hebrews 12:1), while looking ahead to what is to come; that which is new, different, and will inevitably require change.

Some personal goals achieved in 2014:

  • I knitted my first pair of socks!
  • The Optometrist and I entertained more people in our home.
  • I successfully completed teaching an undergraduate college course while simultaneously facilitating a ladies Bible study at church. (Neither of which were on my radar last January.)

Resolutions for 2015:

  • Continue to eliminate sugar from my diet.
  • Continue to grow in my knowledge of God’s Word (facilitating Priscilla Shirer’s Breathe Bible study this winter and planning to read through the New Testament through the 40 Day Lent Challenge with Margaret Feinberg).
  • Be kinder and gentler to myself.
  • Let go and let God.
    /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/27e/68364075/files/2015/01/img_0165.jpg

Yesterday I blogged about my fall and winter knitting adventures, today I’ll provide some reading/book highlights from 2014.

  • Total books read in 2014 = 44
    …But since I slogged through all 700+ pages of **The Goldfinch, I feel I should be able to count this as at least three books, right?
    ** “Only – if you care for a thing enough, it takes on a life of its own, doesn’t it? And isn’t the whole point of things – beautiful things – that they connect you to some larger beauty?”
  • Favorites:
    • The Ocean at the End of the Lane ~ Neil Gaiman
    • The Family of Jesus ~ Karen Kingsbury
    • The Impossible Knife of Memory ~ Laurie Halse Anderson
    • Flora & Ulysses ~ Kate DiCamillo
      • “I promise to always turn back toward you.”
    • Songbird Trilogy ~ Sara Evans and Rachel Hauck
    • Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good ~ Jan Karon
  • Most disappointing:
    • Flight Behavior ~ Barbara Kingsolver

On my short list of books to read in 2015:

  • (finish) 11/22/63 ~ Stephen King
  • Year of No Sugar: A Memoir ~ Eve O. Schaub
  • Embassy Row Book 1: All Fall Down ~ Ally Carter (provide review)
  • Angels Walking Book 2: Chasing Sunsets ~ Karen Kingsbury (provide review)
  • At the Water’s Edge ~ Sara Gruen (provide review)

“This is a new year, this is a new day to rise
Shine, lift up your eyes
This is a new year, this is a new day to rise
Shine and point the way to God’s great life”
“New Year” ~ Charlie Hall from The Bright Sadness

One thought on “…In with the New

Leave a Reply

