Summer Reading

While I work year around, the slower pace of having fewer students on campus truly does make it feel like summer. With back to school meetings taking place next week and students beginning classes two weeks from today, it will then be officially fall in my mind (despite the fact the temperatures will still be soaring into the 90s until early September, I imagine). So for now, I reflect on the passel of books that have kept me company, have taken me places, and taught me lessons over the past few summer months. Here’s a sampling of what I’ve loved and what I’m looking forward to reading this fall.

  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
    • As I shared with a dear friend recently, I took a chance on this one and found it to be a story of hope, community, and commitment to art, even in the midst of death and an uncertain future. So far this ranks as my favorite book of the year, let alone summer, hands down.
  • The Best Yes by Lysa Terkeurst
    • In my previous blog post I mentioned the necessity I’ve found in saying a firm no and confident yes. Therefore, I sought out this book intentionally and was bolstered by its timely encouragement. A few quotes I am already internalizing: “Not every assignment is my assignment” (p. 61). — “Peace requires from us some sort of release” (p. 99). — “Saying no is worth it if it helps you avoid being resentful later” (p. 136).
  • The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert
    • Okay, so the plot was formulaic and very reminiscent of Miklos Laszlo’s Parfumerie (The Shop Around the Corner/She Loves Me/ You’ve Got Mail), but I rather liked the predictability. It was a companionable summer read with a sweet romance and delicious descriptions of food.
  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
    • As a librarian and lifelong lover of bookstores, I’m always a fan of stories that embrace and celebrate books and bookstores. Zevin develops her title character with gentle transformation throughout the book, investing the reader in A.J.’s life and world.

Currently reading:

  • Homer and Langley by E.L. Doctorow
    • I bought a hardback copy at my favorite used book store years ago, fascinated by the story of the Collyer brothers’ maddening descent into a hermit life of hoarding. With Doctorow’s recent passing, I’ve been inspired to finally pick up my copy and give it a read.

Books to read (in no particular order) this fall:

  • Come Rain or Come Shine by Jan Karon
    • What a gift it will be to return to Mitford once more. Karon’s characters fit within a special place in my soul.
  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
  • Since it’s been, oh…about 15 years since I read To Kill a Mockingbird, it would probably be good if I brushed up on this American classic before diving into Ms. Lee’s long-awaited sequel.
  • The Friends of Jesus by Karen Kingsbury
  • Fight Back with Joy by Margaret Feinberg
  • Pines by Blake Crouch
  • Home is Where My People Are by Sophie Hudson

walls quote

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Love this! Mitford has a special place in my heart too. I’m making my way through “The Best Yes’ right now and too find it very timely. Sophie Hudson is always a good laugh and amazing!

Leave a Reply

