#PlacesWhereYouCanKnit

Patterns:
Hitchhiker by Martina Behm (my Pink Puget Hitchhiker version was for myself) as we traveled to Seattle in June. Views from Safeco Field during a Mariners vs. Royals baseball game, the Sky View Observatory in the Columbia Center, and a cruise around Puget Sound with the Space Needle in the background. This was the third Hitchhiker I’ve knit in the past couple of years, which allowed me to know it was an easy and small travel project.

Denver Cowl by Veronica Parsons (my Pox on the Bayou Cowl for myself is still a WIP) with Miss Babs yarn traveled with me to New Orleans in October. The daisy stitch was new for me, but turned out to be simple, beautiful, and the four-row repeat soothing as a travel project.

The Force Awakens

The Force Awakens Hat by Hannah L (my version was for The Optometrist) as we finished the original Star Wars trilogy at home prior to seeing The Force Awakens on opening weekend at the IMAX in Branson. This was my first time doing fair-isle/colorwork and I LOVED this process; almost like putting together a puzzle. I have a feeling 2016 will include even more fair-isle…


Socks

My first pair of socks in 2015 (second pair ever) was the Simple Skyp Socks pattern with a Fish Lips Kiss Heel for The Optometrist.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even though I executed this pattern well enough, I began exploring something a little more basic and discovered Wicked Simple Socks by Ashley McCauley (again, using the Fish Lips Kiss Heel). Knit three, purl 1, repeat = zen. Yes, please! I knit a pair for my Dad first (green striped) and enjoyed it so much, I made a pair for my Momma, too (fuschia striped). Their Christmas socks fit and they love them; success!

Easy Baby Booties

My sweet and talented mother-in-law recommended this free pattern on Ravelry, and as a result it has become my go-to pattern for baby booties. I follow these directions for knitting most of it in the round, which makes it go even faster. Throughout 2015 I knit six pair for friends’ babies near and far.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waffles

waffles by Tin Can Knits proved to be my favorite baby blanket pattern this year. Tin Can Knits does a great job of creating lovely, unique, and easy to understand patterns. Of the five baby blankets I made, waffles made an appearance thrice. The pattern is easily memorizable, which allowed me to take it along to community functions (once, I even worked on it at a concert in the dark!).IMG_0605

The Unbearable Absence of Landscape

In the spring, I mentioned how a knitter colleague informed me of a huge project to #yarnbomb the 108 Contemporary in downtown Tulsa. Lead by artist Romy Owens, knitters throughout Oklahoma, the nation, and other countries contributed to this massive knitting effort, including a few of us from our town. The seven blue and green squares I knitted, combined with so many thousands of others, created a beautiful end product, The Unbearable Absence of Landscape. It was a treat to get to see it in person in November.

This time-lapse video shows the installation at the 108 Contemporary.

Tea Toters

This free Ravelry pattern by Julie Tarsha was one I enjoyed whipping up for three gifts this fall. The Optometrist and I are big tea drinkers, so there’s always an abundance of tea bags available to tuck into these sweet little envelopes. The one below I gave to my Momma, also an avid tea drinker. This one was extra special since the button was hand made by my creative friend Jodi, who is also a knitter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Half Pint Mittens

Half Pint Mittens is by Susan B. Anderson, one of my favorite knit designers. This summer I enjoyed a kit from Little Skein in the Big Wool, based around Little House on the Prairie, which not only included the main Pioneer Girl shawl pattern by Ms. Anderson, but also this little pattern as a bonus. It was originally designed to be a bookmark, with two mittens connected via icord, but I opted to knit them singularly as my 2015 Christmas ornaments, of which I knit fourteen – seven red and seven white.

Knitting Goals for 2016:

Well, I’ve already picked out the Christmas ornaments I want to knit in 2016 and even bought the yarn! Other than that, I’d like to work on:

  • a sweater – my skills are to the point I know I can successfully achieve a larger project.
  • always more socks – try sock blanks and a more traditional heel, perhaps?
  • more fair isle – more colorwork!

“Properly practiced, knitting soothes the troubled spirit, and it doesn’t hurt the untroubled spirit either.”
Elizabeth Zimmermann

Leave a Reply

