What I’ve Learned: April 2016

For me, “learning” is a dual combination of experiencing something  new (or seeing something old in a fresh, new way) and then taking time to be still, reflect, and internalize these moments or lessons I’ve encountered for my personal growth.

Inspired by Emily P. Freeman, here’s what I’ve learned in April.

  1. I can make time for the things that are important, even if I am “busy.”
    This word shouldn’t be my default response when someone asks, “So, how are you?” Janssen, from the blog Everyday Reading, recently wrote a post entitled Rejecting Busy.“When someone asks how I’m doing, I purposefully always choose something other than, “Oh, I’m so busy!” or “Things are pretty busy!” I don’t want to present myself as someone who is really busy and I don’t want to see myself as someone who is defined mainly by being busy.” 
  2. I’m capable of being brave and relying on Jesus to watch over me.
    Recently, The Optometrist had to be out of town overnight for work, which was the first time I had stayed by myself over night in our house. I’ve traveled and spent the night without him several times: youth choir trips, ladies conferences, and with my parents, but this was my first night all alone (well, with Sylvester, too). I didn’t sleep as well as I do when he’s home, but also didn’t give in to fear and spiral down the rabbit hole of playing the “what if something bad happens while he’s away” game. This quote was shared with me earlier that same evening by my dear friend Lauren and became my watchword.
    stonewall-jackson-quotes-11874
  3. Oklahoma really is the prettiest in the spring.
    See more photos via my recent blog post.
    img_1498
  4. Life is better when I exercise routinely.
    This month I’ve been successful in either going to yoga once a week, exercising at the gym, and/or taking walks around the block 2-3 days a week, which has been to my mental, physical, and thus spiritual health.
  5. Mindfulness.
    This month I read The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, which broadly reminded me of the benefit of being mindful in many of life’s circumstances.
  6. God speaking to me through his Word always gives me a fresh perspective on life.
    As I journey through reading the Old Testament, these are some verses that have been a beacon to my soul:
    Blessed are they who observe justice, who do righteousness at all times! ~ Psalm 106:3 (ESV)
    For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things. ~ Psalm 107:9 (ESV)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

