Books: May Edition

DarkMatter

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

At the end of April I gained access to an e-galley of this novel, which will be released in August and I could.not.put.it.down! Crouch is the author of the Wayward Pines trilogy, which has been adapted to a TV series on Fox, but haven’t watched it and do not plan on doing so. More to come about this author later in the post.

Dark Matter has some scientific concepts that were a bit over my head, but I went with it and feel like I learned just a teeny-weeny bit about quantum physics. Filled with suspense and hope, the overarching theme of the book centered around fighting for love and being at peace with the decisions we make.

My thanks to Edelweiss for access to this ARC!

Wedding Dress

The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck

Over a year ago I read the Song Birds trilogy, co-written with country singer Sara Evans, and really enjoyed these books set in the south. Hauck must enjoy vintage dresses, since there were elements of this in the trilogy and are obviously apparent with this novel.

The stories of four women and one special wedding dress span a century in Birmingham, AL. Each instance shows God’s care and providence, the belief in love and marriage, and the belonging His children have as his bride.

Wayward

Wayward by Blake Crouch

As mentioned, after recognizing Blake Crouch’s name with Dark Matter, I did some online searching and discovered his book Pines wasn’t a stand-alone novel – it was the first of a trilogy. It didn’t quite end on a cliffhanger, but did leave me perplexed as to why it ended the way it did. Once I figured out the story wasn’t yet finished, everything made more sense and made me excited to know I had two more books to read in this series!

Wayward picks up where Pines left off (so yes, this trilogy needs to be read in order) with some questions being answered by Secret Service agent Ethan Burke in the town of Wayward Pines, Idaho. His new position of leadership in the town allows him to know answers to some questions, but there are remaining secrets which still need to be revealed…both to and by Ethan.

 

Reading only three books is a little below my monthly average, but the month included a busy end of the semester, my birthday, and two trips out of town. This first week of June will likely see me finishing The Last Town by Blake Crouch and Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist, both of which I’m loving!

 

 

Leave a Reply

