The God Who Sees Me

The first weekend in November, my momma, my aunt, and I joined a host women as we worshiped and were taught during the Fresh Grounded Faith conference in Springfield, MO. It was a sweet time of encouragement, laughter, and spiritual renewal.

The theme was Unshaken and each of the speakers, Jennifer Rothschild, Margaret Feinberg, and Karen Abercrombie shared insight into their personal struggles, all the while trusting the promise that “Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken” (Psalm 62:6). Specifically Jennifer, who is blind, shared that she has made the choice not to fear. She said she just doesn’t do fear.

Never has a theme from God’s Word been more timely, because of all that happened last week…

The election results troubled my soul and made me very anxious.

And then I received word that my dad’s cancer had returned.

During our weekly church choir rehearsal Wednesday night, I shared this diagnosis with our people, many of whom have personally walked or are walking with someone who has cancer, so they know how this news takes the wind out of your sails.

Upon arriving to work on Thursday morning, this note and beautiful leaf were propped against the door to my office. Such a heartfelt, gracious, and intentional gesture from a sweet sister in Jesus who heard the news and took time to reach out to me.

The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him ~ Nahum 1:7 (NIV).

img_0256

Then a little while later, we had our library-wide Thanksgiving luncheon and in the time it took me to establish my seat and then return with my plate of food, one of my colleagues jotted a little note on the paper table cloth aimed my direction, “We are thankful for you!” He didn’t know who was sitting there, but chose to just leave a little note of encouragement.

img_0257

Tears sprang to my eyes as I felt the Holy Spirit saying to me, “I see your frustration and hurt. I see you.

When Hagar was on the run from Abram and Sarai in Genesis 16, the angel of the Lord spoke to her and “she gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: ‘You are the God who sees me,’ for she said, ‘I have now seen the One who sees me’” (Genesis 16:13, NIV).

In her despair, I doubt she was expecting to hear a word from the Lord’s messenger, just as I was not expecting to have two back-to-back moments of encouragement. Yet, the overwhelming assurance of peace came over my soul as I realized once more, God sees me.

With so much uncertainty still ahead, I choose not to fear, I cling to unshakable character of God, I continue to thank Him for seeing me, and remember the example of Father Tim in the beloved Mitford series, as I pray the prayer that never fails, Thy will be done.

Leave a Reply

