Knit: January 2017

This first month of the new year has already proven to be filled with FOs (finished objects), opportunities to learn new knitting skills, and WIPs (works in progress)!

FOs


Pattern: Easy Baby Booties
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 6 & US 8 DPNs
Yarn: Premier Wool-Free Sock yarn, Berry Bush & a lavender acrylic
Recipient: friend’s baby

The mother-to-be works at our local Braum’s store (if you don’t have a Braum’s in your town, you don’t know what you’re missing!), whom I’ve gotten to know over the past few years when I stop in to buy milk or eggs on my way home. We’ve chatted about her college course load, work schedule, etc., but after she told me she was expecting a baby I immediately wanted to knit her a pair of baby booties, having the inkling that she may not have any people in her life to give her child a homemade gift. After dropping off the booties at the store on a night she wasn’t working, she took the time to come by my library office to personally thank me the following week. I can’t say I know this young lady very well at all, I don’t even know her last name, but I just felt the Lord impressing on me this was the right thing to do. This was a reminder that being faithful and generous as I exhibit Christ’s love to those in need never gets old.


Pattern: Copy.Cat C.C beanie
Cost: Free!
Needle: US 7, 16″ circular Knit Picks Karbonz
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash, Doeskin Heather
Recipient: TBD

I’ve recently seen the store-bought version of these hats all over the place! Friends, students, and various young ladies in Branson at Christmas wearing these slouchy knit hats caught my eye. After seeing a close friend wearing one, I asked if I could take a look at it because I thought, “I could totally make that!” Even though they aren’t very expensive, the finishing was atrocious (looked like it was machine knit flat and then sewed up,evidenced by the poorly matching seams), so make one, I did! It fits a bit smaller than my friend’s store-bought CC hat, but the end result looks much more polished (in my opinion).

(Also wearing Hitchiker by Martina Behm with Lost City Knits yarn.)

New skill learned: Twisted Rib Stitch for the 1×1 ribbing made for a more open and loose brim.


Pattern: Basic Baby Hat
Cost: Free!
Needle: US 6, 16″ circular Knit Picks Rainbow fixed circular needles & US 6 DPNs
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Encore DK, Light Brown
Size: Newborn (although it turned out bigger…)
Recipient: TBD

The library remained open on the MLK holiday even though our students were out of class for a volunteer day of service. Since I had to work, I wanted my contribution and act of service to be knitting a hat to donate to the nursery of a local hospital. Using left-over yarn from the wedding afghan I knit for friends, I cast on this hat at the local Monday morning knitting group and finished it a few days later. Now to pass along this and a few other hats to fresh and new little babies!

Pattern: Basic Baby Hat
Cost: Free!
Needle: US 6, 16″ circular Knit Picks Rainbow fixed circular needles & US 6 DPNs
Yarn: Gale’s Art Valentine’s Day double sock blank (2016) & Lion Brand BabySoft Solid – Baby white pompadour
Size: Preemie (although it turned out bigger…)
Recipient: TBD (maybe SSK 2017 KAL donation?)

I made socks for myself from this double sock blank last year and kept wondering what I would do with the rest. After knitting the brown hat, and with Valentine’s Day coming up soon…voila!

Added note: I spent time knitting both of these in a weekly university-wide meeting where, once more, I received comments about my ability to communicate and knit simultaneously. Score one for continental knitting!


Pattern: Big Red Dog
Pay-for pattern from: Knit Simple, Winter 2008/09
Needle: US 7 DPNs
Yarn: Crafter’s Secret, Red
Recipient: Hannah

There were many errors I found when first knitting this pattern a few years ago, which I then re-wrote based on my corrections made along the way. Since then I consult my notes and love making these puppets and giving them as a gift along with a Clifford the Big Red Dog book.

After hearing from the recipient’s Daddy that she was hugging the puppet after her Mommy read her the story during bedtime of the night of her party, this is a good indication our dear friends’ little girl will enjoy this throughout her 3rd year of life as she plays, imagines, learns, and grows!

Another added note: since the body of the puppet is knit in the round on DPNs, I took this with us to the movies when we saw Hidden Figures (so good – HIGHLY recommend!). It was my first time knitting completely in the dark! Score two for continental knitting!

WIPs


Pattern: Granny Stripes
Cost: Free!
Hook: Size E
Yarn: various sock/sport weight bits & pieces
Recipient: I’m keeping this one!

After seeing granny stripe crochet blankets being made on YouTube channels like YarnGasm, the Yarn Hoarder, and LegacyKnitz, I was inspired to pick up a crochet hook after a long time and have been completely fine in “designing” my one-of-a-kind blanket without a firm plan about yarn colors or amounts. This will probably be a WIP for the indefinite future, which is fine, and gives me the bug to start buying mini skeins to add after I’ve exhausted all the color combinations of yarn I’ve previously used (some of which I’ve used every single bit)!


Pattern: Void shawl
Pay for pattern by: Melanie Berg
Needles: US 7 and US 8
Yarn: Quince & Co. Lark, Chantrelle
Recipient: I’m keeping this one, too!

My inspiration and motivation was the one knitted with the same colorway of Quince & Co. by the beautiful Katie of the Inside Number 23 podcast. While others have raved about this pattern, it has required tremendous amounts of concentration to execute everything perfectly. There have been at least two rip-outs/start over again/set it aside for now and come back to it when I don’t want to throw it out the window moments.

Project bag is the toffee colored Field Bag by Fringe Supply Co.

New skill learned: picking up dropped purl stitches. I already knew how to pick up dropped knit stitches, but parts of this pattern have purled sections and I wanted the rows to be consistent. Therefore, this method worked perfectly!

To view more details and photos of my FOs and WIPs, visit my project page on Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

