Things that are saving my life right now

Linking up with Anne Bogel of Modern Mrs. Darcy and others to share things that are saving my life right now, with today being the official half-way point of winter.

  1. A Soft Murmur

    The lodge where we stayed on our honeymoon 4 1/2 years ago included a noise machine that I loved. We looked into buying one, but boy are they expensive! Therefore, when The Optometrist found this website (and there are very similar apps for mobile devices), I remembered how much I loved the soothing sounds of rain/white noise. This site is bookmarked on my library computer where I often run this app for hours each day to calm myself and mute noise from outside my office.

  2. Waking up with intention

    Through a knitting podcast and a conversation in Sunday School a few weeks ago I’ve become more diligent about awaking, establishing routine (checking weather, blogs, news, e-mail), reading my Bible, and determining my focus for the day. This has allowed me to feel like the day begins with purpose and to be aware of how my attitude impacts the day’s trajectory.

  3. Consistent, hassle-free breakfasts

    When poking around Pinterest early one morning searching for low-sugar breakfast options, I discovered two recipes I’ve come to rely on almost daily:
    Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Shake
    I cut the recipe in half and still have enough to share with The Optometrist.
    Using coconut extract is also a yummy alternative to vanilla extract.

    Skinny Peanut Butter, Chocolate, and Banana Muffins
    I double the recipe, sometimes use dates instead of brown sugar, and always use Hershey’s sugar free chocolate chips.

    We’ve found this combination of food sticks with both of us until lunch time really well. But needless to say we go through a lot of peanut butter and bananas in our house fairly rapidly…

  4. Water Rower

    Our Christmas present to ourselves this year was a water rower, which has been a fairly consistent way of exercising indoors during the winter. I still love a good walk around the neighborhood, but with darker morning and afternoon hours, this helps fill in the winter exercise gaps.

  5. Bath time

    During a recent trip to Walmart I discovered Tree Hut coconut and lime Epsom salts (also available on Amazon). On cold winter mornings a warm bath and the smells of the tropics (or at least warmer temperatures) is a relaxing and optimistic way to begin my day!

Looking back to my 2016 list of things that were saving my life, this year’s list is much more specific, but no less meaningful to my journey at this point in time.

 

Leave a Reply

