36

1.) Literally taking time to stop and smell the roses.

2.) Neighborhood honeysuckle fragrantly in bloom.

3.) A cool morning walk.

4.) The privilege of having both my parents alive, still married, and them singing Happy Birthday to me over the phone.

5.) New summer reading lists.

6.) My soul awakening with the Psalms.

7.) Shiny silver hoop earrings.

8.) Re-watching a favorite, classic Disney movie on Netflix.

9.) Casting on a new hat.

10.) Baths with relaxing bath salts.

11.) Caring for the health of my fingernails.

12.) Eating the best hummus in town.

13.) Sharing a healthy smoothie with my husband.

14.) Running into dear friends downtown.

15.) Having our University president tell me “Happy birthday! How does it feel to be 24?”

16.) An inspiring podcast.

17.) The availability of taking a personal day from work.

18.) Restorative afternoon naps with Sylvester curled up by my legs.

19.) Sweet texts from dear friends out of state.

20.) Thoughtful cards from family and friends across the miles.

21.) Sherlock mysteries.

22.) Homemade birthday sushi made for me by my husband.

23.) La La Land piano score with hints of Debussy.

24.) Fancy, Signature Needles engraved with my name.

25.) An unexpected children’s book about knitting.

26.) Anticipating a care package from my BFF.

27.) New-to-me poetry.

28.) Adventuring through Middle Earth for the first time.

29.) Keeping score at a minor league baseball game, a.k.a. the most fun I’ve gotten out of $1.00 in a long time.

30.) Joyful, colorful, loud fireworks.

31.) Walking through well manicured gardens reminiscent of Narnia.

32.) Thoughtful and loving in-laws.

33.) A playful cat before nighttime snuggles.

34.) Clean drinking water that flows out of the faucet.

35.) Being good to my body & my body being good to me in return.

36.) The quietude of home and the peacefulness of bedtime.

Leave a Reply

