Knit: (Me Made) May 2017

Did you notice there wasn’t an April knitting post? That’s because I didn’t complete any knitting projects in April! But boy, oh boy, look what I’ve made in May!

FOs (Finished Objects)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pattern: Find Your Fade
Pay for pattern by: Andrea Mowry
Needles: US 4, 60″ circular ChaioGoo Lace fixed circular needles
Yarn: Hedgehog Fibres Sock – Pollen, Fools Gold, Bramble, Salty Tales, Pheasant, Dragonfly, Bali
Recipient: I’m keeping this one!

There for a while I was a little concerned about the abrupt segue between Bramble (white speckles), Salty Tales (definitely gray), and Pheasant (maroon) since these colors didn’t exactly fade gently between one another. However, I stuck to this original vision of how aspects of each color section would complement the other, and am so pleased with the end result!

Yes, it’s huge on my petite frame (massive, really), but it includes so many colors I wear and love, and I’ve already given it a spin in public during a blissfully cool evening!

I wouldn’t rule out knitting this again in the future, but would intentionally plan a more traditional faded color spectrum the next time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pattern: The Dish (my own creation!)
Needles: US 7, 16″ circular Knit Picks Carbonz fixed circular needles
Yarn: Sugar & Cream – Potpourri Ombre
Recipients: Church friends getting married this weekend!

Here’s how I made this one:
CO 46 sts; K6 rows for border; *(RS) knit across; (WS) K6, purl across to last 6 sts, K6*; repeat * for desired height, K6 rows for border, BO.

Nothing too original about this, thus feel free to use, if you’d like!

Added note: CO during one of our University commencement exercises and later knitted during our visit to the local cinema to see Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2.

Pattern: Easy Baby Booties
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 7 & US 9 DPNs
Yarns: Patons North America Jacquard – Fern Rose Jacquard, Cascade Heritage – Marine
Recipient: The Optometrist’s colleague’s baby

Baby #3 for our friends has resulted in a big boy, with big feet! Thus, I went up a needle size using my favorite, go-to baby booty pattern to accommodate his chubby little tootsies! (I forgot to take a picture before giving these away, but featured are the two skeins I used.)

Pattern: Basic Baby Hat
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 7, 16″ circular Knit Picks Carbonz fixed circular needles & US 7 DPNs
Yarns: Hedgehog Fibres Sock – Dragon Fly, Cascade Yarns Heritage Silk – Marine blue
Size: newborn
Recipient: TBD

Using small bits of sock yarn (there’s lots left over from the Fade) and creating new color combinations has brought endless creative joy and pleasure to make one-of-a-kind booties and hats. Since my US 6, 16″ circular needles were in use, I jumped up a needle size to make this a roomy, soft, and squishy fit for a newborn baby boy.

Pattern: Easy Baby Booties
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 6 & US 8 DPNs
Yarns: Hedgehog Fibres Sock – Salty Tales; Koigu KPM Black
Recipient: TBD

Again, using extra sock yarn, look – I created Zebra booties!

Pattern: Basic Norwegian Star Hat
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 6, 16″ circular Knit Picks Rainbow fixed circular needles & US 6 DPNs
Yarns: Cascade 220 – Doeskin Heather, Space Needle, & White
Recipient: TBD

Color work always looks impressive but isn’t terribly difficult – it just requires some concentration. If you’re new to fair aisle/color work, this is a great pattern that can easily be adjusted to accommodate different head sizes (I CO 80 sts). Pick your favorite sports team colors, or a soothing blend of neutrals, like I did.

I was inspired by Episode 5 of the Yarn Hoarder Podcast when Amber showed this pattern in Chicago Bears colors of navy, orange, and white.

See What I’ve Sewn

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve already written a full blog post about the drawstring activity bags I sewed for our nephew and niece in May, but wanted to include these in my “me made May” report, too!

WIPs (Works in Progress)

Pattern: Oklahoma Cloth
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 7, 16″ circular Knit Picks Carbonz fixed circular needles
Yarn: Hobby Lobby, I Love This Cotton! – Dove
Recipients: Church friends getting married this weekend!

This will accompany my other washcloth, The Dish, in a small bundle of wedding gifts.

StripedSocks

Pattern: Striped Socks with a Fish Lips Kiss Heel
Cost: Pay for pattern by: Sox Therapist
Needles: US 1, 40″ Signature Needle Arts fixed circular needles
Yarn: Patons Kroy – Blue Striped Ragg
Recipient: The Optometrist

Using the Turkish cast on method, CO 10 sts and increased to 64 sts. Knitting these two-at-a-time, toe up, using Magic Loop on my beautiful, personalized Signature Needles (a birthday gift from The Optometrist).

I adjusted the two balls of yarn to have matching stripes which is visually pleasing! The feet will be knit plain/vanilla, then I’ll incorporate some kind of ribbing for the leg and cuff to add a little bit of ease and stretch.

 

As for future WIPs, I’m still wanting to knit my first sweater/cardigan and am narrowing down my pattern and yarn choices.  For all you crafters out there, what’s on your needles right now or what projects are inspiring you this summer?

Leave a Reply

