Knit: June 2017

FOs (Finished Objects)


Pattern: Oklahoma Cloth
Cost: Free! (but no longer accessible)
Needles: US 7, 16″ circular Knit Picks Carbonz fixed circular needles
Yarn: Hobby Lobby, I Love This Cotton! – Dove
Recipients: Wedding gift for church friends

This and The Dish (my free, easy pattern) were two hand-knit gifts we gave to our friends who married in their 60’s (and now share an anniversary with us)! We’re so excited for them!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pattern: Dinosaur, Jr.
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 6, 5″ Brittany birch DPNs
Yarn: Hobby Lobby, I Love This Yarn! Stonewash – Dark Grey, Cascade 220 Superwash – Turtle
Recipient: Sibu

This is the second time I’ve knit one of these cute stuffed animals as a gift for friends’ children. The first time I had trouble with stitch counts on some of the beginning rows, but didn’t have nearly as much trouble this time, thankfully! Unlike a lot of “stuffies” I’ve knit, this one isn’t as fiddly as some can be, and while the finishing touches do take a little bit of time, the end result is worth it.

This has already been sent to friends out of state for their little guy’s 4th birthday!

Added note: When knitting the dinosaur scales, for the firs time I realized that while k2tog (knit 2 together) and an SSK (slip slip knit) both achieve a decreased stitch, they have different functions. A k2tog creates a right slanting decrease, while an SSK creates a left slanting decrease. This website describes these differences in helpful detail.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pattern: Dish Cloth (Knit) from Lion Brand
Cost: Free!
Needles: US 6, 16″ circular Knit Picks Rainbow fixed circular needles
Yarn: Hobby Lobby, I Love This Cotton! – Dove & Ivory
Recipient: Neighbors who cat sit

I knew I didn’t have enough grey yarn left over from the Oklahoma dishcloth to knit another full one, so I chose another simple pattern I love and combined the rest of the grey with a bit of ivory. The “rule of thirds” using two colors is visually clean and pretty – I think I’ll try this technique again…intentionally next time!

WIP (Work in Progress)

StripedSocks

Pattern: Striped Socks with a Fish Lips Kiss Heel
Cost: Pay for pattern by: Sox Therapist
Needles: US 1, 40″ Signature Needle Arts fixed circular needles
Yarn: Patons Kroy – Blue Striped Ragg
Recipient: The Optometrist

Using the Turkish cast on method, CO 10 sts and increased to 64 sts. Knitting these two-at-a-time, toe up, using Magic Loop on my beautiful, personalized Signature Needles (a birthday gift from The Optometrist). I adjusted the two balls of yarn to have matching stripes which is visually pleasing!

The feet are knit plain/vanilla, then I’ve knit a 3×1 ribbing (knit 3, purl 1) around the leg of the sock for it to fit snugly.  These will easily be finished in the next week!


July means I’m just a few weeks away from attending my first knitting/fiber retreat, Super Summer Knitogether (SSK) in Nashville! I’ve signed up to take two classes: Cutting and Finishing Steeks with Ann Budd and Two-handed Two-color Knitting with Margaret Radcliffe. In preparation for these classes I have a bit of knitting to complete between now and then. Knitting homework – yay! Look for a detailed recap SSK post later in July!

Leave a Reply

