Read: April 2020

Allegedly

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

After an accidental encounter meeting Tiffany D. Jackson and not knowing who she was at the start of the North Texas Teen Book Festival, I was determined to get to know the writing of this young adult author and I’m glad I did!

When Mary, a 9 year old black girl is helping her mother babysit Alyssa, 3 month old white girl, and baby Alyssa is killed, the courts rule that Mary is the murderer…allegedly. The story picks up when she is now 15 years old, a ward of the state, brilliant, but troubled. This twisty story could be ripped from the headlines and examines the tough topics of juvenile incarceration, abuse, and trauma.

Read via: Hoopla e-book

Taste_and_See

Taste and See: Discovering God Among Butchers, Bakers, & Fresh Food Makers by Margaret Feinberg

I’m a huge fan of Bible teacher and author Margaret Feinberg and have had the privilege of hearing her speak and meeting her twice (us at a conference in 2013).

IMG_2401

In her most recent tasty release, Margaret recounts her travels around the country and the world to work alongside farmers and food artisans to learn more about how Jesus’ teachings and interactions with olives, salt, meat, fish, and bread are still relevant and connect with us as believers in the 21st century.

Read via: Hoopla audio

HowtheLightGetsIn

How the Light Gets In by Brian Doyle

While reading Katie’s blog a few years ago, she referenced the poetry of Brian Doyle, and I was immediately intrigued by this Catholic wordsmith, so much so that I bought this for myself for my birthday in 2017. This collection has been a peaceful companion during a time of social distancing, reminding me of the power and beauty that are found in humble, everyday observations.

Read via: home library

AKnockatMidnight

A Knock at Midnight by Brittany K. Barnett

I am happy to continue serving on our university’s Common Read committee and we are already looking ahead to Fall 2021, which is hard to believe! In light of my librarian connections with sources like NetGalley, I was able to preview this impactful memoir of criminal justice reform, which is on our short-list for consideration.

Look for my full review on June 16!

My thanks to Crown Publishing and NetGalley for access to the digital ARC.

Radioactive

Radioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie, A Tale of Love and Fallout by Lauren Redniss

What a fascinating look at the lives of Marie and Pierre Curie and the ripple effect of their discoveries of polonium and radium, told through an eerily beautiful artistic medium. The cover of the book even glows in the dark! This is another contender for our 2021 Common Read and I think the format of this being a shorter, more visual read could be very approachable to many of our freshmen.

My thanks to Harper Collins Publishers for the review copy!

WaysToMakeSunshine

Ways to Make Sunshine by Renée Watson

After hearing Renée Watson speak about her new middle grade series during the North Texas Teen Book Festival,  I was most eager to read this first installment, reminiscent of and inspired by Beverly Cleary’s Ramona Quimby books.

IMG_2137

“I’ll Never Be the Same” panel at the North Texas Teen Book Festival: Kwame Mbalia, Pam Muñoz Ryan, Renée Watson.

This sweet story released on Tuesday, so feel free to read my full book review here.

My thanks to Bloomsbury Children’s Books and NetGalley for the ARC.

HPGOF

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay

Returning to Hogwarts to journey alongside Harry, Ron, and Hermione is always a treat, especially when The Optometrist and I are able to read aloud together. Jim Kay’s vibrant illustrations add to the suspense of what will happen to Harry as he competes in the Triwizard Tournament. This was a wonderful way to end the month of reading!

Read via: home library


Despite life and routine continuing to be abnormal, to me May still means the beginning of summer. Therefore, I’m excited about catching up on more unread shelf titles, reviewing some ebook ARCs, taking advantage of digital offerings from my local public library, and seeing what Anne Bogel has in store for the Modern Mrs. Darcy Summer Reading Guide. What about you? What are you excited about exploring this coming month?

Leave a comment