Read: May 2018

The end of the semester, a new-to-me discovery of Hoopla, a free audio book service from my public library, and the release of the Modern Mrs. Darcy Summer Reading Guide, along with the Great American Read from PBS, has made for a jam-packed bookish month!

ToAlltheBoys

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Janssen from Everyday Reading has raved about this young adult book in several of her blog posts, and with the school year winding down, I was in the mood for something fluffy. It was filled with unexpected heart, and there were some unexpected twists within the premise of “teenage girl writes secret letters to boys she’s loved, who then receive her letters, unbeknownst to her until it’s too late.”

Read via: public library Overdrive

LittleBeachStreetBakery

Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

I enjoy a heartwarming starting over again/reinventing oneself story, and when it involves baked goods, count me in! When Polly encounters a few more downs than ups, a dilapidated flat over an old bakery is all she can afford when she moves to Mount Polbearne, a quaint English seaside village. Filled with atmospheric warmth, characters who care about one another, heartbreak and romance, yummy descriptions of food (freshly baked bread, honey, and fish) and a protagonist who comes into her own, this was a delightful book to begin my summer.

Read via: academic library InterLibrary Loan

ThisOneSummer

This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki

Every summer Rose and Windy rekindle their friendship when their families return to their Canadian seaside cabins. Even though they are pre-teens, they have a curiosity for experiences beyond their young years: scary, rated R movies and the local teenage drama and gossip. This graphic novel falls squarely in the young adult/crossover adult category, as it deals with complicated issues of pregnancy/infertility and contains adult language, but does so in a thoughtful way.

Read via: academic library youth collection

Nobody'sCuterThanYou

Nobody’s Cuter Than You by Melanie Shankle

Over the past few years I’ve really enjoyed reading the humorous and encouraging words of Melanie Shankle, both The Antelope in the Living Room and Church of the Small Things. When I saw my public library had the audio book for Nobody’s Cuter Than You narrated by her, the reading experience became all the more enjoyable, but made me long to spend quality time with my sweet girlfriends who live miles and states away.

Read via: public library Hoopla audio

PSIStillLoveYou

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Picking up immediately where To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before left off, Lara Jean and Peter are now officially dating and there’s a lot they have to work through in their relationship – namely past relationships and feelings for others, plus learning how to trust they will stay true to one another in the present.

Read via: public library

SimplyTuesday

Simply Tuesday by Emily P. Freeman

I’ve owned an e-copy of Simply Tuesday for a very long time and have picked up my Kindle to read a few pages here and there over the past few years. But after finishing Nobody’s Cuter Than You and began exploring other books on Hoopla by Christian authors I love, this was my motivation to finish this languishing book.

Her honest writing about embracing small, the goal being Jesus, movement toward God, and choosing to be led by love vs. pushed by fear, were words to which my soul said a grateful amen.

After regularly listening to Emily’s podcast, The Next Right Thingthe only thing better would have been for her to have narrated this call to simplicity.

Read via: public library Hoopla audio (& home library)

book-alwaysforever

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Wrapping up this trilogy by Jenny Han, I was left feeling a little blah by the series. Lara Jean is a strong and unique character and I really enjoyed her relationships with her Song sisters, dad, and her affinity to bake to relieve stress. However, I thought she sacrificed essential parts of herself to be with love interest Peter. (But maybe that’s what you learn from high school romances?)

Read via: public library Overdrive e-book

Reading-People

Reading People: How Seeing the World Through the Lens of Personality Changes Everything by Anne Bogel

Confession: when Anne Bogel was promoting her book last Fall I was a little hesitant about it because I thought it was about people who read (the personalities of different readers) versus what it’s actually about, how to read (understand) people. Well, duh.

Narrated by Anne, a.k.a. Modern Mrs. Darcy, she takes you on a tour of various, existing personality indicators such as the 5 Love Languages, Myers-Briggs, StrengthsQuest, and Ennegram (I still want to take this assessment) and how you can better understand your strengths and weaknesses, along with the traits and personalities of those with whom you live, love, and work. While these were brief overviews, her research was obvious when synthesizing detailed concepts, making them easy to understand and apply.

Read via: public library Hoopla audio

MyKitchenYear

My Kitchen Year: 136 Recipes that Saved My Life by Ruth Reichl

When I look back on this Spring (March and April) in years to come, I will fondly remember the writings and recipes of Ruth Reichl and what a comfort they have been to me at just the perfect time.

After Gourmet magazine folded in 2009, this is a candid journey of Reichl’s sadness and grief seen through each of the four seasons that year and how cooking kept her grounded and thankful in the present moment.

What a wonderful journey it’s been to read vivid accounts from her life and be inspired to try new recipes. Thank you, Ruth Reichl!

Read via: academic library InterLibrary Loan

Ragamuffin

The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning

I’ve owned my print copy of Ragamuffin for 15+ years, but never progressed past Chapter 3. Then after listening to Simply Tuesday, my pursuit to listen to books I’ve never finished reading in print continued with Ragamuffin, a perfect fit.

On the heels of Reading People, where I began to pay more attention to my personality traits, Ragamuffin reminded me to ultimately view myself as a child of grace, forgiven, and deeply loved by Abba.

This is a must read for anyone looking to expand their view of acceptance and the great love given through Jesus Christ.

Read via: public library Hoopla audio (& home library)

Hamilton-Revolution

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter  

When I discovered this was the winner of the 2017 Audie Awards, I couldn’t resist this being my next audio book. Narrated by actress Mariska Hargitay with footnotes by Lin-Manuel Miranda, you are taken behind the scenes to understand the influences, decisions, and planning that created the revolutionary (all puns intended) journey of the Broadway smash hit, Hamilton.

I’m not the world’s biggest Hamilton fan, but have really enjoyed the cast recording (I’ll always have fond memories of it accompanying us on our road trip to Santa Fe) and think Lin-Manuel Miranda is just so, so smart. This book only solidified my impressions of him and makes me anxious to see the musical in person someday!

Read via: public library Overdrive audio

the-little-prince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

I have heard about this French children’s classic for a long time, but seeing it listed as one of the contenders for The Great American Read inspired me to take it home over the Memorial Day weekend.

Quite honestly, it wasn’t my favorite – the various veiled allegories were difficult to determine an overall theme of the book, woven throughout. Mini-themes that did stand out to me addressed friendship, kindness for those smaller than yourself, embracing the unexpected, and a longing for home, and perhaps another reading would allow me to pick up on more and/or deeper themes. (If you’ve read it and it’s a favorite, please share why in the comments below!)

Read via: academic library

LOTR

The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

While The Lord of the Rings series has taken me almost a year to read, spanning last June and this March through now, I’m pleased to have been stretched outside my reading comfort zone and can proudly say it’s been worth it. The experience of reading aloud to The Optometrist has certainly helped me stay on course to not only persevere but connect all the characters and story lines along the way.

I now understand why this series and these characters are so beloved by countless readers for generations: good triumphing over evil, bravery (one step at a time), the hero’s journey supported by selfless friendship, everyone having an important role to play, and hope – always hope.

Read via: home library


What are you excited about reading this summer? And do you have any good audio book recommendations? Please share!

Leave a comment